Morning Unglory

“Remember the days when I didn’t know what sinus pressure headaches were?” I mused this morning as I massaged my forehead.

Really, I don’t know if I’m suffering a cold or sinus issues–probably both, which is sort of like the negative of having a double shot of espresso.

The nice thing with all of this is that I get to spend my day almost entirely alone in my office–outside of a meeting where I have to look sort of presentable and not too “I-just-woke-up-in-incredible-pain”-y.

To be fair, I can’t say that I woke up in INCREDIBLE pain. I’m pretty sure that’s reserved for women in labor or mothers who simply ache all over because…SLEEP.

So I shouldn’t even pretend that the agonies of a cold coupled with the complaints of sinus pressure even compete.

Except that they do–especially at 5:00 in the morning, which is when I remembered that I had blog post ahead of me today.

Monday morning posts might be turning into Monday afternoon posts, just so you know. My creative juices aren’t delivered until precisely 8:00 and anything that’s delivered earlier is probably the neighbor’s order.

That’s why I’m struggling with coherent thought this morning.

My friend was insisting last night that you can’t change a night owl into a morning bird. I was arguing the opposite and giving myself as an example. “I used to HATE mornings,” I said. “But when you get up early you start to like them.”

I still hold by that statement.

Except that 5:00 doesn’t count as morning.

Five o’clock is exactly one hour before morning begins.

Leave a comment